The Wet Spot

Irony and luck
Make odd bedfellows, content
to just make me smile.

**************************************

I have been trying to figure out the right way to capture how I’m feeling right now, a mere 4 days after being Freshly Pressed. Lot’s of stock phrases occur to me: The Morning After, My 15 Minutes are Up, etc, etc. But the one phrase that keeps coming back in my mind is “The Wet Spot”. (Let me pause here to apologize to my parents although I’m not entirely sure they read this.)

Why? Well this past Monday I experienced a blog-asm*. That is the only way to describe what it felt like to me to be featured in Freshly Pressed. An amazing high at my luck (it was like the quarterback asked me to the prom!). A joyful feeling that left me smiling for hours on end. I was distracted, consumed, enraptured by the experience.

But all good blog-asms must end. And when they do, you are left in the wet spot. This isn’t necessarily a bad place to be. Good things previously happened if there is a wet spot for you to occupy. But it can be a little cool (obsessing over the critical comments that echoed my own insecurities) and a little uncomfortable (holy crap batman, will I ever write anything as entertaining again?). And you aren’t quite sure what to do now that it’s over. Pretend it never happened? Worry it will never happen again? Become obsessed with your new followers and their comments?  Worried you aren’t reciprocating enough? Worried your non-literary spouse will leave you if you mention the word ‘blog’ again?

All of these worries share the wet spot with you, there’s no escaping that. So what to do? Roll over. Get over it. It will dry. Life goes on. Hope the memories will remain, bright and happy.

With an analogy such as this, there are clearly many avenues of further parallels that I am leaving unexplored, one in particular is the obvious question: do my new stats have a phallic look to them? Perhaps… But I run the risk of this post veering too close to the “God I hope my work friends never read this” path if I continue with that. So instead, I’ll say that my new stats are giving me a peace sign – two fingers side by side, with the ring finger and pinky knuckled over next to them. That works for me. That’s what a typical blog-asm does for me anyway…

So to the 9300 views and the resulting likes and followers and comment-ers, I say with deep gratitude, thank you. It was really good for me.

 

*After writing this I googled the word blog-asm and realized that I’m hardly the first to use this phrase, but when I wrote it I thought it was funny as crap, so I’m keeping it. Apologies to any trademarks, copyrights, etc etc.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Don’t worry, your writing is so funny and just wonderful! This was an example, good post and I like the idea of your stats giving you a peace sign. 🙂

    Reply
  2. That’s a great analogy for a number of situations.

    Reply
    • I kept thinking there were so many different ways to develop the idea, but i didn’t explore them. might be fun one night over wine…

      Reply
  3. I had a reacion like that the first time I saw someone shared my post on twitter, I grabbed the phone and called my BFF and said “OMG…someone shared me!!!” it was so funny. Being Freshly Pressed led me to your blog but it is your writing that’s keeping me here 🙂

    Reply
  4. thank you! appreciate you saying that

    Reply
  5. Love, love, LOVE your sense of humor. Your candor is refreshing and I think we can all relate to the blog-asm, although mine currently involves a high of 22 views in one day! Keep up the fun work, I thoroughly enjoy it (but may not have ever found you if not for Freshly Pressed!) For that, I am so grateful!

    Reply
  6. I was FP’d about a year ago and still remember that feeling like it was yesterday haha. Keep writing because you like to write! Don’t worry about us!

    Reply
  7. Say that again please, what’s a “wet spot”?
    There happens to be a definition, right?

    Reply
  8. lostingoodstory

     /  January 14, 2012

    Over 9,000! I have never been “Freshly Pressed” but yesterday I got 23 views! I have 5 followers! I thought, wow, what did I write? I gotta keep recreating that! Then I realized that for me, my blog-asm must have been due to the date. Friday the 13th.

    Reply
  9. The Rusty Fork

     /  January 14, 2012

    Thank you for posting about the afterglow of “Freshly Pressed.” As a new blogger, I wondered how I would feel, and what it would mean.

    My favorite part of watching the Oscars is cheering for those walking the red carpet – perhaps in a Tom Ford suit or Michael Kors dress – who watched the event the previous year in their old bedroom at their parents’ house eating Chef Boyardee from the can. It’s so satisfying to watch them inhale their dream realized.

    Again, congratulations. Your work deserved its sashay up the red carpet!

    Reply
  10. Robert Gregory

     /  January 15, 2012

    Love haikus! And that is a great one! 🙂

    Reply
  11. I’m happy you got FP’d. That’s how I found you and your very funny writing. When I saw the title of this post I thought, “Nah, she couldn’t be talking about what I think she is.” But you kind of did talk about what I thought you were, and it is actually pretty accurate. Though I’ve never been FP’d, I had over 100 views one day and I was pretty vocal in my enthusiasm (okay, I’m a screamer). When it dwindled to 2 views a day, I thought, “Is that it?”. For me, it was like: the excitement is over, and now the walk of shame commences…

    Reply
  12. You are simply hilarious! Keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

