Making Choices – My 5 Roles

Embrace the choices:
They map your way forward and
Soothe the looks backward.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I learned something a few years ago from an executive at my company that has helped me with my work/life balance. He (yes, it was a he) hypothesized that each of us can reasonably have 5 roles in life that we are committed to. A role is something like wife or mother or tennis player or gardener.  If we decide to take on more than 5 roles, and want to fully commit to those roles (meaning we want to do them well), then he claimed something or someone will suffer.

I’ve been experimenting with this concept for a few years now and I think he is right.  Once I started thinking in these terms, I quit beating myself up for not “doing/having it all,” a self doubt-a-thon that I think many working moms engage in.  Instead, I decided that “having it all” was as simple as focusing on these 5 roles such that I was doing them well. Not perfectly, not full on all the time, but in a consistent way, with focus.  If I am able to do that, then I count myself successful, consider myself living the dream, and cut myself some slack on the things I’m not doing.  How powerful would it be if we could all see 5 reasonably well-executed roles as cause for celebration.

That isn’t to say that this is easy. Take a look at my current list of 5 roles.

  1. Wife (this is purposefully first, because it is too easy to make it last; I still struggle to give him as much time as I’d like)
  2. Mother (there may be a time when I won’t need to have this on the list, but not for a long time…)
  3. Employee (another “not really a choice” choice for our family, but still, have to acknowledge it is a role and it takes time)
  4. Healthy person (writing it down gives me permission to choose a work-out over coming home early)
  5. Writer/Blogger (new this year, yeah! Finally made it to the top 5)

These may seem obvious choices, to you, but to help dimensionalize how hard it is to pick the top 5, let’s list some of the things that didn’t make my list.

Daughter. Gasp! Really!?!? How can I do that? First, it doesn’t mean I don’t call my parents. It just means than I don’t focus time and attention on cultivating that role. Time and attention would probably mean more trips South to see them; a regularly scheduled phone call; more emails; home-made videos of the kids, etc. But I haven’t made this choice. So we talk about every 2 weeks while I’m driving home from work or on a random weekend when I get a moment. There may come a time in the future when their health drives “daughter” right back on the list, but I’ll clearly know it can’t be an incremental role, something will have to go.

Housekeeper.  If you ever visit me you will find dust. And likely a floor that needs to be swept assuming you can find it under the toys. If you are lucky enough to see upstairs, then you’ll see unmade beds and likely a dirty sock on the floor. Get over it. It isn’t a priority – I don’t put money or more than minimal time against this role. We don’t live in squalor (don’t worry, the kitchen and bathrooms are quite clean, the clothes are washed – even I have standards), and I do clean the house on a regular-ish basis, but I’m sure there are those out there who would frown if they visited.

House rehabber. This was a role last year (when writer wasn’t on the list). That’s because last year was our first full year in this amazing 86-year-old house which requires a lot of time and attention (not to mention money). Last year we focused on the house. This year, we don’t need to as much.

Sister.  Just like my daughter role, I don’t make this a priority.

Friend. There is an amazing women’s group that I get together with once a month. But I don’t have “girl friend” time the rest of the month for the most part.  Facebook keeps us connected, but I don’t foster the relationships like I see other people do.  I work with people I consider friends, and I like the moms of kids at school, so the itch gets scratched in those ways, but that’s it.  Sometimes I miss this…

Are there drawbacks to these choices? Sure there are. If it were painless, then it probably wouldn’t really be a choice.   But what keeps me committed to this concept is this:  when I think about how (even more) stretched I’d be if I also tried to put effort against more than 5, I realize none would be done well, and that is something I’m not willing to sacrifice.

Do I do some things outside of my roles? Of course, but I recognize that they will get less investment and thus lower returns. Or, I rethink my definition of it. For instance,  I’m a girl scout troop leader. Is that a new role or a “mother” role? I did it at my daughter’s request, so frankly I think of it as something special we do together – mother role, check.   I also keep a garden in the summer – is that another role? If you saw my garden you would agree it was NOT a focus area for me. Instead, I get the kids involved (harvesting carrots this year was a riot) or I treat it as exercise (healthy person role).  Again, you might see this as cheating, but I approach it holistically and it makes it easier. This doesn’t need to be any harder than it already is.

Lastly, you might ask “where are you on the list”? Healthy person – that is broadly defined to cover all the things I do to take care of my mental and physical health. Sleep in when I can, no work in the evenings when possible, Pilates class, etc.  Make sure you have you on your list too.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Perfect reminder that goes hand-in-hand with the theme of my blog today – Reflection. Thanks for the reminder and I treasure you as my friend (doesn’t need to be on your top 5 – I know you are there when needed.) Love you!

    Reply
  2. This eye opening! As a mom of three who works and sings on the worship team, I know intellectually that no one expects to come over and find a perfect house, none-the-less, i’m constantly exhausting myself trying to get it ALL.done. To think that I should focus on 5 roles and do them well, well that makes perfect sense… Deciding which 5 to focus on… Not so easy! Great post!

    Reply
  3. Good luck on your journey; this is definitely a better way to look at it. I also wrote a similar post about New “Life” resolutions – as opposed to a new “year” or “diet” approach.We can strive to be better – at everything – as long as we stay on track. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    Reply
  4. ldmccormck

     /  January 22, 2012

    Lovely, lovely, lovely. Thank you Maureen for the depth of your words, your thoughts, your commitment and your heart!

    Reply
  5. When I became a stay-at-home-mom I thought “Housekeeper” went with the role. HA! You will find many more socks on the floor than one. And on more than one floor. That’s mainly because they make such great toys. It is very important to focus, otherwise we feel pulled in a thousand directions. This reminds me of the Franklin-Covey idea of “Wildly Important Goals” and the law-of-diminishing-returns. Basically, the more you try to juggle, the worse everything becomes. You have to pick and choose, and I applaud you for doing it in such an open forum.

    Reply
  6. A very thought-provoking post. I was actually just sitting here trying to do some work and feeling sad because I’m realizing my kids are growing up too fast and I’m missing a lot of the stuff we used to do when they were younger. So, of course, that made me think I’m not paying enough attention to the “mother” role.

    After reading your post I’m rethinking whether that’s true. Maybe it’s not that I’m not paying enough attention, but that I need to adjust how I pay attention.

    Hmm, I’ll have to see if I can come up with a top 5…

    Thanks for a great post!

    Reply
  7. Beautiful post, full of insights.It made me wonder which roles I could possibly have in my life.
    And if I have more than 5, which one would I leave behind.
    Thank you so much for sharing!!

    Reply
  8. Lyssapants

     /  January 23, 2012

    I like that philosophy and I can already tell that the 5 role concept will stick around in my head as I prioritize my life.
    Also, awesome to hear you’re a GS leader! I come from a long line of Girl Scouting women, I was in GS for 11 years and I plan to become a leader someday.

    Reply
  9. Cindie U

     /  January 23, 2012

    I guess you saw my request.
    Thanks for putting this in writing, Mo.
    Seeing it in print (instead of as words swirling around in my head), I can really put some thought into it.
    I’m thrilled that writing made it to your top five.

    Reply
  10. Erica Roberts

     /  January 24, 2012

    Insightful! Oddly enough, very relevant to what I’ve been considering in life. When my mum left for a year to go back to school and my dad working all the time, I was more or less the one to take care of my brother (age 14 at the time). So I was taking on a lot more roles than I should have been. But when my mother came back, she re-took over those roles and left me trying to figure out what parts I should have been playing.
    This concept is definitley going to keep me pondering now. haha Thank you!

    Reply
  11. Thank you for sharing! As someone who tends to take on too many roles, it is helpful to hear someone else say, “this number should be your limit.” As someone who likes numbers…I think this is one I’l adopt!

    Reply
  1. Thanks for the Nominations! Now it’s my turn… « FamilyHaikus

Leave a Reply

