Even My Tired is Tired

The body begs “sleep”;
The mind succumbs to rubbish,
dressed as important.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am dog tired. I am a dog-who-was-left-on-vacation-and-walked-400-miles-back-to-her-owner’s-house-in-a-week-then-had-10-puppies tired.  There are three things responsible for this.

ok, so I made her pose for this, but you get the idea...

1. The Oscars.  I’m not all that into movies, but I love to watch the Oscars. The clips are fun, the jokes are usually ok, the clothes beautiful and the speeches touch me.  Last night we let Tivo get a head start on it, but still took us until 12:15am to get through the show (no matter how often I told myself to stop and go to bed, I just couldn’t look away). I really liked it. Loved Billy Crystal no matter what everyone else says. And I now officially have a thing for JLo.

2. My work. This morning, a Monday morning mind you, someone scheduled a global conference call at 7am. And this same person put me on the agenda, over and over again (actually, that was my own fault now that I think about it). Oh, and did I mention, it was a Video Conference! Yes, you guessed it, that means I had to be there in person. Now normally (wait! if we work together, don’t read this next part – promise me!) I take 7am calls while getting ready for work. For most calls of this nature, I listen for 90% and only talk maybe, at best, 10%, so I can finish my make up, even dry my hair (thanks to a bluetooth headset that automatically increases volume when surrounding noise increases), get dressed, kiss the kids/the man, grab my breakfast, and hit the road, all while people blather on and on about budgets and innovation and marketing. But today, as I’ve already lamented, it was a video conference, and I had several agenda items, so alas, I had to be in the office by 6:50am. This means I had to be out of bed by 5:15am.

3. My self. I’m not sure what is wrong with me. Last night at 12:15am, the Tivo’d Oscars having ended, I was clearly tired and headed toward disaster, as my alarm was already set for a mere 5 hours away. Instead of going upstairs to bed, however, what did I do? I checked WordPress. Then my email. Then a brief look through Facebook to see if my friend wrote back. Then, for some reason, I clicked on abcnews.com to see if anything exciting (other than the Oscars) had happened. Then finally, I went up to bed. However, upstairs it just got worse… I checked my work email on my then bedside-Blackberry (just because I really like getting emails late at night that remind me how much freaking work I have waiting for me in the morning as that always relaxes me). Then I headed to the bathroom to do the evening routine, which involves listening to an audio book while I floss, brush, wash, tone, spot cream, deep wrinkle cream, eye cream and moisturize.  (I work for a skin care company, forgive me…) Then comes the “hair hunt” which involves me looking into a magnifying mirror trying to find newly minted eyebrow hairs to yank mercilessly from my brows, which always devolves into mindless wrinkle inspection (…I wonder if I finally look younger than my older sister…) and hair-do imaginings (…maybe I’ll let it grow long and wear a pony tail…). Jesus-H-Christmas, 20+ narcissistic minutes later I emerge wondering where the time went.  After slathering a few more potions on my hands and feet, I crawl gratefully into bed only to grab my phone so I can pull up the Daily Dilbert App and the XKCD App to see any new cartoons.  A few pages of my hard copy book later, I’m finally relaxed and ready to sleep. It is now 1:15am. I am insane.

So when 5:15am came this morning, I felt like someone had hit me in the head with a 2 by 4 and poured salt water into my eyes. (No, there was no alcohol involved…) I crawled into the shower, got myself ready, did mostly well on the call and promised myself I’d leave work a little early given the early start.

At 6pm tonight I called my beloved and told him I was on my way home.

Not yet done with the self-delusion, I then promised myself that after the kids went to bed at 8:30pm I would NOT come downstairs and get distracted… I would go to bed myself and catch up on sleep.

Did I do this? No. Of course not. I came to this god-forsaken site to poke around and decided this topic was a good blog idea. Good enough to deprive myself further of sleep in order to get something posted because postings lead to clicks and clicks mean I’ll have some email to check and checking email means I’m worthy.

It’s 9:52pm. Help me. Please.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sounds like maybe you could use some “Freedom.” Ever heard of it? It’s a computer program that locks you out of the Internet. I learned about it at a lecture by the novelist Ian McEwan.
    http://macfreedom.com/
    Don’t know if it has a mobile version! And I hope you’re not reading this until tomorrow morning…

    Reply
  2. ldmccormck

     /  February 27, 2012

    I love you, sleep deprived and all!

    Reply
  3. Oh I feel so bad for you! Tonight after supper have a half a glass of wine and go directly to bed. If you’re anything like me, you won’t be able to do it without a fight…but you should try.

    Reply
  4. HAHAHAHA!

    No, really….HAHAHAHA!

    It’s so nice to know there are other people for whom the bathroom is a time-warp of pore-inspections, hair-assessments (if I stand directly under this light it appears that my hair is thinning!!), skin cream rituals, and the mouthwash dance (which is the only way to get through the full rinse time…that stuff burns!)

    I’m always a bit resentful when my husband, who has no WordPress blog and therefore no compunction to check views on his phone before he goes to bed just in case there was one more since he checked it on the computer in the kitchen before heading up to bed, turns out his light and demands a goodnight kiss when I was JUST about to wrap things up and turn out MY light. How dare he get relaxed and sleepy before me?

    We’re not alone…we’re just all crazy.

    Reply
  5. LOL, I can relate to way too much of this. Luckily our teleconferences have no video yet. I can roll out of bed, directly to my home office downstairs. So when I punish myself with wordpress and email all night long, I at least have no morning prep and commute.

    Reply
  6. thank you for entertaining me at your expense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

