Grandma’s Rock – Caption Contest

Mothers who are grand
spread special love, wet kisses
secrets and treasure.

===========================

We lived for 3 years in England, so often I pretend to have insider knowledge of the English. Clearly, I don’t. But I do love keeping up with the Royal Family, especially as Queen Elizabeth II celebrates 60 years on the throne. I once saw her in Windsor Castle — about 100 yards away behind a large, iron fence… she was wearing a lime green suit on her way to the races as Ascot. I felt special, knowing we made a connection. (Actually I jumped up and down and pointed like a typical American.) At another event, she walked by 10 feet from my husband, who snapped a great picture of her. It sits proudly on our mantle, again, demonstrating that we are dorks.

With that background, I present to you my new favorite picture, found on abcnews.com.

princeharry_wideweb__470x360,0

Queen Elizabeth II smiles at Prince Harry as she inspects soldiers during Sovereign’s Parade at Sandhurst Military Academy April 12, 2006 in Surrey, England. (Tim Graham/Getty Images)

I have two reactions to the picture, beyond the fact that it is a new favorite.

One is that no matter who you are and what you do, your grandma is your grandma, and you better smile at her. The pride in her face is universal…and the embarrassed whimsy in Harry’s is priceless.  To find it captured so perfectly is amazing – one second either side of the moment, and you wouldn’t get half the meaning, have the impact.  I guess that’s what makes it such a great picture.

My second reaction centers on what was being said: what did grandma say to Harry at this moment? And even more fun, what did his friends, lined up and decidedly not smiling, say to him afterwards. That is the subject of today’s CAPTION CONTEST.

A: What did Queen Elizabeth II say right before this picture was taken?

B: What did Harry’s mates say later back in the barracks?

I can only come up with one:

Grandma Q: Your fly is open.

I’ll leave the rest to you all. Please contribute. No prizes, just fun reading…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Damn! You took mine! Hmmm… okay…here’s a nice irreverent one… “I say, there, Harry, is that a sword in your hand or are you simply happy to see me?”

    Reply
  2. Laura Smith

     /  May 26, 2012

    Queen: “My, you look just like my grandson!”

    Reply
  3. Don’t get too big for your britches young man II changed your nappy!!

    Reply
  4. Don’t get too big for your britches young man! Remember I changed your nappy!!

    Reply
  5. “You look eerily familiar to me” – love your post!

    Reply
  6. “I won the staring contest!”

    Reply
  7. “My… I hope you aren’t downwind from that!”

    Reply
  8. “I do believe you have been in my hat closet–it looks lovely on you!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

