eBay Picture Bloopers

Humor lurks, waiting
to be found. It is stealthy;
make sure you look twice.

***********************************

I love eBay. During long holiday breaks, like the last two weeks, I usually get some hair-brained ideas on things I must have, and then I stalk eBay for days. I usually change my mind partway through the hunt, realizing I’m being a little obsessive about having the perfect “vintage pull chain” to match our 86-year-old house. But sometimes I persist and end up with something really cool.

My travels in Ebay this holiday season have netted me three pictures that I think merit a blog post. They are for what I’m sure are outstanding items. However, each image struck me as quite funny.

First, a lovely ring.

Is anyone else totally mesmerized by the finger hair? I can’t get past it. I’m sure it is a woman’s hand… I reviewed the other photos posted and the hand is most definitely female.  I’m just thinking that I would personally outsource this job to someone else if I had this much hair in a close up.

Now, what do you think about this lamp?

The seller talked about the lovely cherub and the beautiful brass detail. All I can see is a demon on the stained glass.  Wire eyes and an open black mouth screaming. I would NOT have this in my house.

An art deco lamp I came across…

bullet light

Are you kidding me? This is not a light. It is a dildo, plain and simple. They are posted as bullet lights, torpedo lights or sky scraper lights. But I think this is code for something naughty. Search eBay for dildo light and you’ll see virtually the same thing. Search for penis clear and you’ll see things I’m not sure I understand, so I can’t recommend that. (the things people sell…)

Anyway, for those considering selling on eBay, I urge you to get a second point of view on your images, lest they convey something different then your intention. In the meantime, I’m going back to my search for the perfect Arts and Craft Floor lamp, or perhaps I will go with the mid century modern swag light… and the dining room chairs are cool too… but maybe the wall scone and vintage bathroom mirror are my best choice… (oh god, please, make me stop!)

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. :’) hahaha! I was absolutely mesmerized by the finger-hair too… On another note, though, did the ring sell? My mom loves tanzanite…

    Reply
  2. OMG! You kill me! That chick has the hairiest knuckles ever! It took me a minute to see the “demon,” but now that I’ve found it, it’s all I can see. Yikes. And the dildo light left me speechless.
    And as part of my New Year’s projects, I started a second blog–a social media experiment that I started on the Embiggens project. It is http://searchingforbarryweiss.wordpress.com/. Hehe.

    Reply
    • I’m glad you see the demon now… i don’t want it just to be me…

      And congrats on the new blog… exactly what do you do next to progress the experiment?

      Reply
      • Haha. I haven’t really thought beyond trying to get more hits and climb up the Google search ladder. I’ve never been one for a master plan. lol. Any ideas?

  3. Yes. My eyes stopped at the black hair. I went past then back again. Bruce

    Reply

Leave a comment